How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Florida
Steps to get a Florida Medical Marijuana Card
Take our eligibility survey to see if you qualify for Medical Marijuana in Florida.
If you believe you qualify, schedule an appointment with one of our many qualified Florida medical marijuana doctors.
Gather your medical records before the appointment, ideally with a previous diagnosis of a qualifying Florida medical marijuana condition.
Go to your medical marijuana doctor appointment at scheduled time and location.
If your marijuana physician gives you a recommendation, you must complete and submit an application with the State of Florida along with the $75 application fee.
Applicants may apply online or mail the application, along with a $75 check or money order, to:
Office of Medical Marijuana Use
PO Box 31313
Tampa, FL 33631-3313
The state typically takes 2-4 weeks to process the application. Upon processing, you will be sent an email from the State of Florida.
Medical Marijuana Doctor Near Me
MMTC FL is committed to providing compassionate care throughout the state of Florida. If you are looking for a Florida medical marijuana doctor, visit our locations page to find the physician closest to you!
Florida Medical Marijuana Card FAQ
How much does a Florida Medical Marijuana card cost?
A patient is responsible for the cost of each visit to their medical marijuana doctor. In addition, each patient (and designated caregiver) must possess a Registry ID Card in order to have access to dispensary products. The Registry ID Card costs $75, paid annually to the Florida state Office of Medical Marijuana Use.
What conditions qualify for medical marijuana in Florida?
There are many conditions that qualify under Amendment 2 in Florida, including arthritis, chronic pain, multiple sclerosis, PTSD, cancer, and scoliosis. For more information on conditions and to see if you qualify, check out our survey here.
How do I renew my medical marijuana card?
To maintain an active Medical Marijuana Use Registry Identification Card, a patient or their legal representative must annually submit a renewal application, along with the application fee and any required accompanying documents to the Florida Department of Health at least forty-five (45) days prior to the ID card's expiration date. The application can be found here, along with instructional guides and an application FAQ. For technical assistance with the Registry, contact the state Office of Medical Marijuana Use at 850-245-4657 (Option 2 to speak with Technical Support).
How often do I need to see my marijuana doctor?
At this time, Florida law requires that every patient be evaluated and recertified within the state Registry by their provider every 210 days (about 7 months). At MMTC, your follow-up visit will be once every 6 months to prevent a lapse in treatment.
If my application is approved, where can I buy medical marijuana in Florida?
Medical marijuana may only be purchased from licensed dispensaries, also called Medical Marijuana Treatment Centers. Click here for a full list of licensed dispensaries across Florida.
A patient may choose to buy their recommended medical marijuana product at the dispensary of their choosing, similar to how a traditional medical prescription can be filled by any pharmacy of the patient's choice. Common dispensary choices are Trulieve, AltMed Florida (MüV), GrowHealthy, Columbia Care Florida, Curaleaf, Fluent, Harvest, Surterra Wellness, and VidaCann. To find a dispensary location near you, use this search tool.
Can I grow my own marijuana in Florida?
No. Florida law only allows licensed dispensing organizations to grow, process, and dispense marijuana. It is important to remember that marijuana is still illegal under federal law. While the case of Joe Redner may have made headlines please note that this is the exception, not the rule.
Can I travel with my medical marijuana from Florida?
Although medical marijuana is available in Florida, it remains
federally illegal. Because of this, you can’t take it in or out of the state.
Where can I use my medical marijuana in Florida?
Qualified patients can use medical marijuana at home or on private property such as their private residence. Public use is illegal, except for low-THC cannabis.
Keep medical marijuana out of children’s reach and sight– preferably in a medication lockbox–and put it away after every use.
How much does my initial Medical Marijuana Card appointment cost?
Prices for a Florida Medical Marijuana card vary by clinic location. Please refer to your nearest clinic for specific pricing.
How much does it cost to renew my Florida Medical marijuana card?
When a patient renews their Registry ID Card, along with their application they must submit a $75 annual fee to the Florida state Office of Medical Marijuana Use. The application can be found here, along with instructional guides and an application FAQ. For technical assistance with the Registry, contact the state Office of Medical Marijuana Use at 850-245-4657 (Option 2 to speak with Technical Support).
What is the total annual cost of a Florida Medical marijuana card?
The total cost per year for a Florida medical marijuana card is $398 in physician fees and a $75 Registry application fee, totaling $473 per year.
What can I expect at my first visit with my Florida Medical Marijuana doctor?
The first visit to a new physician can cause anxiety in most patients. MMTC's staff and specialist physicians will strive to create a comfortable and welcoming atmosphere for your consultation. Since the opening of our first clinic in 2016, we have served thousands of patients and improved every step of the process based on experience and patient feedback, and we are excited to help improve your quality of life.
Upon arrival, you will check in with our friendly care staff. The physician will then see you to discuss your medical history and if cannabis is right for you. The initial consultation is as much like a counseling session as a primary care appointment. If you qualify, our team in-clinic will assist you in applying for your Registry ID card.
What are the residency requirements for a Florida Medical Marijuana Card?
What if I only live in Florida Part-Time?
When completing applications, the online process is connected directly to the Florida OMMU Registry. The Registry is also linked to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) database. If there is a match to the information on your profile, your residency status will be automatically added to your application and approved. Adult applicants (patients and caregivers) must submit a copy of a valid Florida driver license or Florida identification card.
A seasonal (part-time) resident who does not have a Florida driver's license or identification card must submit a copy of at least two of the following documents:
- A deed, mortgage, monthly mortgage statement, mortgage payment booklet or residential rental or lease agreement from a Florida property.
- One proof of residential address from the seasonal resident’s parent, step-parent, legal guardian or other person with whom the seasonal resident resides and a statement from the person with whom the seasonal resident resides stating that the seasonal resident does reside with him or her.
- A utility hookup or work order dated within 60 days before registration in the medical use registry.
- A utility bill, not more than 2 months old.
- Mail from a financial institution, including checking, savings, or investment account statements, not more than 2 months old.
- Mail from a federal, state, county, or municipal government agency, not more than 2 months old.
- Minor patients must submit a certified copy of a birth certificate or a current record of registration from a Florida K-12 school and a copy of the minor patient’s parent or legal guardian’s valid Florida driver’s license or identification card.
- For all forms of residency, the name and address on the document(s) provided must match the name and address provided in the application.
Please see our Patient Information Brochure for more details on Florida’s residency requirements for medical marijuana.
What documents must I bring to my appointment with my medical marijuana doctor?
It will be important to bring medical records from your primary care physician indicating your chronic medical condition. Each MMTC physician has their own policy regarding types and age of records they will accept, so please be sure to discuss records with our call center prior to appointment.
If you suffer from a chronic but undiagnosed mental health disorder, we may be able to help. Please discuss this with our call center and we can get you in touch with a LCSW for an assessment.
The need for reliable, expert medical marijuana education doesn’t stop just because we can’t gather in person. That’s why we are continuing our efforts to provide online medical marijuana education!
We’re joined by industry experts as we broadcast live each week so you can learn from the comfort and safety of your home. Attendees will be able to ask questions, hear from guest experts on each topic, and re-watch previous broadcasts on our new YouTube channel!
MMAS events will continue to be absolutely FREE, and new topics will be announced regularly both here at MarijuanaAware.com and on our social media, including Facebook and Twitter.
Chronic pain webinars
Click a section below to see the presentation slides, video recording, and additional resources for each webinar.
Who Qualifies for Medical Marijuana in Florida?
Find Out If You Qualify
In order to be treated by our specialist physicians, a patient must be:
• 21+ years of age
• Permanent Florida resident
OR seasonal Florida resident
• Diagnosed with a qualifying condition or a comparable chronic condition
Take a short test to see if you are eligible for a Medical Marijuana Registry ID Card under Florida regulations. We’ll email you the results!
Initial Clinic Appointment
Your provider will work with you to identify medical marijuana treatment options and dosage forms to suit your individual needs. If you do not qualify there is no charge for your appointment.
During your appointment, your provider can help you to apply for your Registry ID Card with the state Office of Medical Marijuana Use. We will provide you with a copy of the application and any personalized assistance you need.
Pick Up or Order Your Medical Marijuana Recommendation
When the state has processed and approved your application, you can visit a licensed medical cannabis dispensary to pick up your medical marijuana recommendation or schedule for your medical marijuana to be discreetly and securely delivered.
We’re here for you! If you have any problems with your application, want to request a dosage adjustment, or have any questions, give us a call at 850-906-5000.
21+ years of age
Permanent Florida Resident OR Seasonal Florida Resident
Diagnosed with a Qualifying Condition or a Comparable Chronic Condition
This website is intended for informational use only. It is not meant to constitute medical advice. Please contact your health provider prior to making any medical decisions.
Boca Raton • Bradenton • Carrollwood • Casselberry • Fernandina Beach • Fort Walton Beach • Gainesville • Jacksonville Beach • Kissimmee • Lakeland • Naples • North Port • Ocala • Orange Park • Palm Harbor • Panama City • Pensacola • Port St. Lucie • St. Petersburg • Sun City Center • Tallahassee • Tampa • The Villages • Winter Haven